CHI-HUEY WONG

Academia Sinica 128 Academia Road, Section 2, Nankang District Taipei, Taiwan 115

Title of Lecture: "Chemistry and Biology of Glycosylation"

Phone:	+886-2-2789-9400
Fax:	+886-2-2785-3852
Email:	chwong@gate.sinica.edu.tw

Education:

1982 Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology1977 B.S. & M.S. National Taiwan University

Research and Professional Experience

1982–1983	Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
1983–1989	Assistant Professor through Professor, Texas A&M University,
1989–2006	Professor and Ernest W. Hahn Chair, The Scripps Research Institute
1991–1999	Head, Frontier Research Program on Glycotechnology, RIKEN
2000-2004	Board member, The National Research Council on Chemical Sciences & Technology, USA
2000-2008	Scientific Advisor, Max-Planck-Institute, Germany
1993-2010	Editor-in-Chief, Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry
2003-2006	Director, The Genomics Research Center Acadmia Sinica
2006-present	President, Academia Sinica
2008-2011	Chief Science Advisor, Executive Yuan, Taiwan
2012-present	Chief Science Advisor, Ministry of Science, Taiwan

Research Interests

Chemical Biology, Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Awards and Honors

- 1985 Searle Scholar Award in Biomedical Sciences
- 1986 Presidential Young Investigator Award in Chemistry
- 1994 The IUPAC International Carbohydrate Award
- 1994 Academician, Academia Sinica
- 1996 Elected Member of The American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 1998 The American Chemical Society Harrison Howe Award in Chemistry
- 1999 The American Chemical Society Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry
- 1999 The International Enzyme Engineering Award
- 2000 The Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, USA
- 2002 Elected Member of the US National Academy of Sciences
- 2005 The American Chemical Society Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry
- 2006 Humboldt Research Award for Senior Scientists, Germany
- 2007 Elected Member of the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
- 2007 Doctor, Scientiarum Honoris Causa, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
- 2008 The F.A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research
- 2009 National Science Council (NSC) Science Professional Gold Medal
- 2012 The American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Award
- 2012 Nikkei Asia Prize for Science, Technology and Innovation
- 2014 Wolf Prize in Chemistry
- 2014 Elected Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Inventors
- 2016 Einstein Lecturer, Israel Academy of Science

